Home > News and Events > News and Events

Prof. Han Dayuan received an honorary doctorate from University of Bergen

On May 5, 2017, Prof. Han Dayuan received an honorary doctorate from University of Bergen. In recoganition of the achievement Prof. Han made in constitution study and law education internationalization, the Board of Directors of the University of Bergen decided to grant prof. Han an honorary doctorate on September, 29th, 2016. Previously, Prof. Han was awarded honorary doctorate from University of Lapland in 2012.

On the afternoon of May 5th, the degree award ceremony was held at the University of Bergen Auditorium, which was hosted by Prof. Anne Lise Fimreite, and more than 200 guests including Prof. Dag Rune Olsen, president of University of Bergen attended the meeting. On the ceremony, Prof. Asbjørn Strandbakken, dean of University of Bergen law school, at first introduced the academic achievement and contribution to legal education internationalization. Then Prof. Dag Rune Olsen officially awarded Prof. Han the honorary doctorate diploma and the ring on behalf of the University of Bergen. At last, Dean Han delivered an English speech, in which he appreciated the University of Bergen and his family and colleagues.

Then, Dean Han reviewed the course of cooperation between RUC and the University of Bergen. He pointed out that the honorary doctorate is not only his personal honor but an encouragement for RUC law school, which contains the efforts that all the teachers and students made to the cooperation. At last, Dean Han looked back to his personal academic and educational experience, and reaffirmed the lofty values of human dignity. He also said that in spite of the long distance, there are many similar experience about rule of law, freedom and equality between Norway and China. Therefore, it is necessary for us to communicate and learn from each other.

Edvard Moser, May-Britt Moser, Arthur L. Stinchcombe, Katherine Jane Willis, Leif Ove Andsnes, Jostein Fet, and Peter Opsvik was granted the honorary doctorate along with Dean Han. The University of Bergen was founded in 1946, and located in Bergen. It has more than 16,000 students and 3,600 teachers. Since 2010, we have launched various cooperation including student exchange, teacher visit, summer program and so on with the University of Berge.

On May 4th, Dean Han presented the inauguration ceremony of the "China Law Center in Norway". And he also visited Prof. Elisabeth Steiner, former European Court of Human Rights Judge, Prof. Gianmaria Ajani, President of the University of Turin, Italy, Professor Andrew R. Klein, Dean of Indiana University law school, Professor Lloyd T. Wilson, Head of the Chinese Law Summer School Program at the University of Indiana, Prof. Kimmo Nuotio, Dean of University of Helsinki law school, and Professor Anne Sanders from University of Bonn law school. He also visited RUC students studying at the University of Bergen.

editor: Zhang Wenke

© 2014 Renmin Law School | 59 Zhongguancun Avenue, Haidian District, Beijing, 100872 CHINA 86-10-82500352
Contact us : ; Support :