Home > Academics > Conferences

Professor Yang Lixin of the Research Center for Civil and Commercial Jurisprudence of the Renmin University attended the World Tort Law Society's Third Biennial Meeting and Elected Chairman

From November 14th to 18th, 2017, ¡°the World Tort Law Society¡¯s Third Biennial Meeting¡± was held at the Wake Forest University. 18 directors and more than 10 invited representatives from Harvard University, Stanford University, University of Michigan, New York University, Duke University, Wake Forest University, University of Oxford, University of Bristol, Universit¨¦ Paris 2 Panth¨¦on-Assas, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Bocconi University, University of Vienna, Leiden University, Ottawa University, Laval University, University of Cape Town, University of New England, University of Haifa, Kyoto University, Malaysia National University, Renmin University of China (RUC), Sichuan University, Heilongjiang University, Fu Jen Catholic University and Macao University attended the meeting.

This year¡¯s theme was ¡°the World Tort Law Society¡¯s Report II: Road Traffic Accident Liability in a Global Perspective¡±. The report consisted of nine parts: (1) the basic problem in tort law: causation; (2) road traffic accidents: the interaction between law comparisons and compensation systems; (3) case no.1: the sudden appearance of minors; (4) case no.2: mutual traffic accident; (5) case no.3: drunk ride; (6) case no.4: the failure of the brake; (7) automatic driving, tort law and insurance; (8) traffic accidents in the global view; (9) the judicial practice of the road traffic accidents in the U.S.. The executive board and director board convened sessions.

Professor Yang Lixin of RUC, Professor Yang Zhen of Heilongjiang University, Professor Wang Zhu of Sichuan University were invited to made two academic reports entitled ¡°the General Situation and Characteristics of Road Traffic Accidents Liability in Mainland China¡± and ¡°Case No.4: a Chinese Perspective¡±, and conducted in-depth exchanges with scholars from other countries.

The council amended the World Tort Law Society Statute, limiting the total number of directors to 30 persons. According to the Statute, two directors who failed to fulfill their duties were decided to quit. The council reelected the president and the executive board. Professor Yang Lixin of RUC was unanimously elected the second president the society. Professor John Goldberg of Harvard University, Professor Mark Lunney of New England University, Professor Ernst Karner of Vienna University, and Professor Chen Ronglong of Fu Jen Catholic University were elected the members of second executive board. The council also augmented Professor Yao Hui of RUC as a director, and appointed him as the co-rapporteur of the ¡°The World Tort Law Society¡¯s Report III: The Protection of the Right to Personality in the Information Age¡±.

The council unanimously agreed to confer Professor Helmut Koziol of Vienna Univeristy the title of ¡°honorary president of the world tort law society¡±. In the inauguration ceremony, Professor Yang Lixin, on behalf of all directors, awarded the special plaque to Professor Helmut Koziol, and fully affirmed his great contribution to the society.

On behalf of the society, Professor Yang Lixin gave the society flag to Professor Huang Shiting of Fu Jen Catholic University, who would be the host of the World Tort Law Society¡¯s Fourth Biennial Meeting in 2019.

(Editor: CHEN Pei)

© 2014 Renmin Law School | 59 Zhongguancun Avenue, Haidian District, Beijing, 100872 CHINA 86-10-82500352
Contact us : ; Support :